WSHJA Celebrates Your Winning 2010 Spirit!

by WSHJA Member Services January 19, 2011 in Announcements

A record number of attendees, over 400, came to celebrate WSHJA’s year-end award winners at the 58th Annual Awards Banquet & Silent Auction held Saturday, January 15, 2011 at Meydenbauer Convention Center in Bellevue, WA.

It was a truly festive and energized evening, with members receiving awards in 28 categories in the State Awards Program and 78 categories in the National Awards Program, and all 45 of the WSHJA Perpetual Trophies going to deserving recipients.

WSHJA Special Award Winners

In addition, the WSHJA membership paid fitting tribute to 2010’s Special Award recipients. A highlight of the evening was an emotional presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Award to long-time contributor Dina Happy, as well presentations of the President’s Award to Nancy Lewis, the Junior Sportsmanship Award to Alexa Anthony, and the the Amateur Sportsmanship Award to Peter Brandon.

Other special awards included:  

  • High Point Adult Amateur Hunter
    Sue Miner
    Brass Ring Farm
  • Overall Pony Hunter
    Holly Hill Farm
    Payton Smith
    Archway Equestrian Center, LLC
  • High Point Junior/Amateur Jumper
    Madison Cameron
    OZ, Inc.
  • National - Pacific NW High Point Young Jumper
    Kona Coast
    Denise Youell
    Farpoint Farm
  • State - Pacific NW High Point Young Jumper
    Special Blend
    Shannon Hendrickson
    Signature West Farms

Congratulations to all!

Silent Auction Raises Record for 2011 Scholarship Fund

Thanks to the extraordinary generosity of our members, this year’s Silent Auction raised over $10,000 for the 2011 Scholarship Fund, a record!  WSHJA would like to thank the many donors who provided the wonderful auction items, including CWD for donating the bridle used in the raffle, and Quinn Partridge and Thumbs Up Farm for donating the wonderful basket used in the ‘Manes & Tails’ game.  

2010 Scholarship Winners

The awards ceremony also recognized the 2010 WSHJA Scholarship Winners for so beautifully representing the brilliance and talents of Washington State riders at Regional and National Finals:

  • Alexa Allen - USEF Talent Search West
  • Alexa Anthony - USEF Talent Search West, USEF Zones 8, 9, 10 Hunter Seat Medal Regional Finals, USEF National Hunter Seat Medal Finals, ASPCA Maclay National Finals, Emerging Athletes Program (Levels II, III)
  • Wendy Collins - USEF Zones 8, 9, 10 Hunter Seat Medal Regional Finals, USEF National Hunter Seat Medal Finals, ASPCA Maclay National Finals
  • Tara Heffernan - West Coast Pony Hunter Finals
  • Rebecca Mercer - West Coast Pony Hunter Finals
  • Lauren Myers - USEF Zones 8, 9, 10 Hunter Seat Medal Regional Finals, USEF Talent Search West
  • Aubrey Roth - USEF Talent Search Finals West
  • Rebecca Sexton - USEF National Hunter Seat Medal Finals, ASPCA Maclay National Finals
  • Jesse Shurtleff - USEF National Hunter Seat Medal Finals
  • Payton Smith - West Coast Pony Hunter Finals
  • Samantha Smith - West Coast Pony Hunter Finals

And to finish out the celebration, recipients of the USHJA’s Zone 9 year-end awards were honored. Be sure to check out for that special photo of what was a truly celebratory evening.


Volunteers Made It Happen!

In addition to event manager Lynn Trewin, who did an exceptional job coordinating the event this year, WSHJA sends a special thanks to all the extraordinary volunteers who made the 2010 Annual Awards Banquet and Silent Auction such a memorable evening:

  • Masters of Ceremony: Bo Masters & Scott Trewin
  • Silent Auction: Pat Domine
  • Ribbons, Prizes & Perpetual Awards: Karen Freywald, Melody Gilmore, Lola Michelin, Jil Edwards, Logo Garden
  • Registration: Sydney Lewis, Nancy Lewis, Suzanne Hitz
  • Set Up & Decorations: Linda Fleck, Jennifer Sparks and Lizzy Kerron
  • Commemorative Program Design: Miriam Walsh Lisco & Lisa Henderson
  • Photography: Jay Goss
  • Marketing & Member Communications: Jessica Vania, Nicole Ballantyne, Melody Gilmore, Nancy Lewis, Gary Voth
  • Special Thanks to Jennifer Sparks DVM, Equine Veterinary Associates for sponsoring the Banquet Pianist.
  • James Bryant DVM, Pilchuck Veterinary Hospital for sponsoring the Banquet Welcome Cocktails